That was super

My friend from college Garrett is an aspiring elite Xterra triathlete, and posts numerous Facebook updates about his training, bikes and chances to take afternoons off from work and go mountain biking in rural Arizona (whatevs). But for a spate of time, he posted about doing supersets, workouts he claimed were awesome.

So today, Track Tuesday, I decided to try it out for size.

A superset, I learned, is a workout that starts at a fast pace and ends with a slower, longer run with no rest between the intervals, but rest between the set. I did a little Googling and found this one: 4x(200-400-800), with the 200s at an almost-top speed, the 400s at 5K pace and the 800s at 10K pace. You don’t rest between the 200s, 400s, or 800s, but you get four minutes between the sets.

Easy peasy, right?

Here’s how it shook out:

Set 1: 40, 1:36, 3:20
Set 2: 42, 1:38. 3:20
Set 3: 43, 1:38, 3:17
Set 4: 42, 1:38, 3:18

This is interesting. I had a really hard time with the 400s, obviously, but the 800s felt pretty easy. My legs were awfully tired by the end – as in, “Just make running motions with your legs and hopefully you’ll start moving forward!” – but, aerobically, I was not that bad. So what do the sluggish, painfull 400s mean? No clue. I’m going to ask Garrett.

2 responses to “That was super

  1. That does sound like a good workout! I’m just starting to get into this kind of stuff, before that’s it’s always been more traditional 1-minute fast, 2-minute slow type stuff. But I’m really digging the track workouts.

    I just got Asics Cumulus shoes also! I ran my first successful marathon in them, then they changed the style on my, but I tried the new ones and now I’m back 🙂

  2. That sounds tough! Track workouts make you feel like you’ve really worked out.

Leave a Reply

