Wahhh

Can I complain for a second? Thanks.

My housemate, who for all other reasons is awesome, decided to be all manly yesterday and re-wire the basement. This resulted in the internet becoming all screwy last night. This morning, I woke up to continually screwed up Internet (at 6:30 a.m., Thanks internal clock!) and decided to get up.

And, I’m sorry if this offends anyone’s delicate sensibilities, but I really had to go to the can. Unfortunately, housemate number two was in there.

No biggie, right? I’m a grown up, I can hold it in…sometimes. But everyone’s got their moments, and the mornings are my bathroom time. And housemate number two was taking his time. Finally, I couldn’t take it anymore and jetted out the door, into my car, and to the port-a-john of a nearby construction site (I’m sorry, mea culpa, disculpame, construction guys).

But back to the internet. I returned home after group-run and found the web STILL not really working. This was a problem because I was to meet a group in the city to make costumes for the Coney Island Mermaid Parade next weekend, and I had no idea of the address. But I DID have my friend’s phone number, so I grabbed my phone, a bottle of water, and a book and headed to the train station. I got there with plenty of time to spare, only to realize that my water bottle had completely drenched my bag and phone…and the phone was dead.

F-me.

Wrapping up an already sad tale, I got to the Verizon store on 7th Avenue and 30th and replaced the phone, for a mere $216. Forget replacing my Garmin, at least for the next six months.

—-

Something complete unrelated: hihg-ranking editors and emoticons. In this interview, NY Times business editor Larry Ingrassia answers questions in the “Talk to the Newsroom” column. I love the column, but in this particular question, Ingrassia twice utilizes smiley-faces in his answer (regarding the quality of Times reporting as opposed to everyone else). Now, I’m fairly anti-emoticon, LOL, etc., but I can tolerate it from other. But…seriously? New York Times? Business editor? I wonder if Ingrassia does that in emails to  his reporters: “Hi guys, fyi, deadline is two hours earlier today. That’s in 15 minutes 🙂

Yeah. No.

Leave a Reply

