What my first workout in eight months felt like

Amazingly relaxed/wet.

Workouts freak me out. I don’t know what I’m afraid of…the pain? Failure? Probably. I always feel better afterward (mostly), but getting my ass to the track is always a battle.

Today, however, I decided to nut up and do an easy version of an old standby.

My plan was 5×800 at 6:40 pace, which would be 3:20 per mile. But, because I have an unfortunate habit of going out too hard to compensate for the fatigue I anticipate feeling, I made a vow to myself that I would not slow down. As in, if I went out in 2:50 for the first repeat, I would have to keep it at that pace. Not that I would have run a 2:50, but you get the idea.

I woke up to an overcast morning with a high likelihood of rain, warmed up two miles to the high school track (only .25 miles from my house! No excuse not to do track now!) and said, “Start out in 3:22, Sarah. You can speed up later.”

First 800 – 3:11. Like I said, overcompensation. It felt fine, but the first one always feels fine. If it doesn’t, something’s wrong.

Second 800 – 3:14. Also fine.

Third and fourth began to get challenging, at 3:09 and 3:06. Some people say the second-to-last repeat is always the hardest. I call B.S. The LAST one is the hardest, because you’re the most tired!

I ran it in 3:03. And then it started pouring. Like, really pouring with thunder and lightning and wet little high school students scurrying to school. I pitied them for a little bit before I started pitying myself even more, and scurried home myself.

We’ll see if I wait eight months until my next track workout. If I ever get readers, hopefully I will have some accountability. Ha!

Leave a Reply

