Early

I don’t know if I don’t like to sleep or if I just have a restless mind, but I’m an early riser.

Case in point: 6:15 a.m. on a Saturday, I’m up and at ’em. My roommates, I guarantee you, will be asleep for the next four hours.

It wasn’t always like this. I remember, as a kid, sleeping until all hours of the day. As a college kid, I would sleep late, too, or just not at all, and then crash during the day.

Still, as far as I can remember, I have always had fits of insomnia. I am not sure how that affects my early-risingness, but maybe it’s that my body is so thrilled not to have tossed and turned until 3 a.m., it figures it might as well take what it’s got and get up.

This may or may not be why I am a coffee drinker. I tend to think that part is genetic, though.

In any case, getting up early sucks for being a journalist because you don’t get into work until 10:30 a.m. and then you’re done when you’re done, but it rocks for running. Especially in the summer! Because it gets hot as balls the later it gets.

Today, I’m taking advantage of my shitty internal clock and going to my first yoga class at my new YMCA. I’ve had good and bad experiences with Y yoga, but never at this particular one. Fingers crossed I didn’t waste sleepy-time for a bunch of hippie-dippy forward folds.

Leave a Reply

