Al principio

I’m starting a blog for the same reason I joined my local public radio station – guilt.

No! Not guilt. More in that I was taking and taking and not giving anything, which you can do, technically, because the public radio gods don’t come through your speakers and demand payment, but during those membership drives, you feel like a jerk for not giving.

So, coughed up my $100 and became a card-carrying member of WFUV, which is an awesome station, by the way. You can stream it online. I highly recommend it.

But in more pertinent matters, I’m blogging, and I’m blogging because I like to run. And write. And sometimes write about running, and really rarely run while I write, but I tend to think I should combine the two. Pretty much because my running friends don’t care about my newspaper work, my newspaper friends don’t care about my writing and I need an outlet. Also some training ideas.

So here goes.

I’m Sarah. It’s not a good name for nicknames. I’m 25, I live in New Jersey, I write news, and I’ve been running for the past five years or so. What started off as a way to get good at my first sport (Ultimate frisbee, which we took very seriously at my school) turned into a passion. It also helped that I was pretty good at it. So I dropped Ultimate for the most part (not a bad idea at 5-foot-almost-one), and focused on running.

Then the injuries came. Or really, one injury with a penchant for migrating. My left knee has ranged from cranky to intolerable for the past two years or so, and  sometimes my right knee feels left out and wants in on the fun. I’ve had a heck of a time rehabilitating these guys, and hopefully, after two years of dicking around with recovery, I’m on the right path.

So, like, now I wanna get fast again. And not hurt myself again. And survive in this business, and there will be more on that later. For now, I’ll leave you with these:

Leave a Reply

